April 22, 2015

Congratulations, Keren!

The 197 new members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences for 2015 have been announced, and one of them is the chair of our department, Professor Keren Rice.

The Academy has been electing "thinkers and doers" from every generation since 1780 and is full of esteemed scholars, writers, intellectuals, artists, philanthropists, journalists, and social leaders.

Keren and the other new members - including astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson and author Tom Wolfe - will be inducted into the Academy at a ceremony in October.

For more details, see the U of T's press release, the Academy's official message, and the congratulatory note written by the Linguistic Society of America.

Congratulations to Keren on this great honour! The rest of us can attest to it being more than well-deserved.

No comments:

Post a Comment